Playing with Myself

We rated this book:

$28.99


Randy Rainbow (yes, it is his real name) is full of surprises. His political parodies blending Broadway musical numbers with hot topics surprised with relevance and lyrical astuteness, his live show displayed vocal range and talent without video gimmicks, and now his memoir is delightful and original, so again, he does not disappoint.

He is candid about why he may have used Trump as a satirical target. It turns out that Randy had a Trump-like father. Dad issues, anyone? In this book, his tone is conversational and he freely interjects admonitions to the reader who may be taking him too seriously. He is a deeply funny man and obviously quite clever in the vein of Stephen Sondheim or Oscar Wilde.

I’m sure this book will not be for everyone. Those put off by the title need not read further. But those of us who consider his parodies to have brought comic relief during some of the darkest days will welcome learning more about the fabulously funny Rainbow as an author.


Reviewed By:

Author Randy Rainbow
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 256 pages
Publisher St. Martin's Press
Publish Date 19-Apr-2022
ISBN 9781250276254
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue July 2022
Category Biographies & Memoirs
Share