What Lies Beneath: A Laura Chambers Novel

We rated this book:

$27.00


What Lies Beneath is told from the point of view of the main character Laura Chambers, a reporter in North Carolina. This is the second book in the Laura Chambers series. When law enforcement brings Laura in because a murder victim’s phone shows that she called Laura four times before being killed, Laura is perplexed. The body is too disfigured to tell who it is exactly and law enforcement thinks Laura is hiding something. Eager to figure out who the victim is, Laura does her own detective work and stumbles into a case she hasn’t thought about since she was a little girl, the murder of her best friend’s parents.

This book has some excellent character development in it including Laura’s childhood best friend, Cooper the Dog, the unlikeable deputy Whitley, and Laura’s father who is in and out of her life. The plot takes a lot of twists and turns yet is still easy to follow and understand. I recommend this book to fans of thriller and suspense novels. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Kerry Wilkinson.


Reviewed By:

Author J. G. Hetherton
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 304 pages
Publisher Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date 12-Jul-2022
ISBN 9781643850207
Amazon Buy this Book
Issue July 2022
Category Mystery, Crime, Thriller
Share