You Tell the Stories You Need to Believe: on the four seasons, time and love, death and growing up

We rated this book:


Using the seasons to unfold her thoughts and emotions, renowned writer Rebecca Brown discloses too many moments of emotional sadness as the years chronicle her age. She reflects on childhood moments, considers memories of relatives and friends, reacts to the emotional impact of music and the influence of the writings of past personages, and delves into the etymology of seasonal names. Yet, throughout this short journal of reflection and introspection, the reader is embraced by a sense of sorrow that does not refresh the spirit.

The division of the text into Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter reflects solitude and isolation from the natural wonders of the outside world. Unfortunately, the yearly divisions, outside of temperature change, have no influence on this writer, who appears to thrive on melancholy and finding similar dispositions in the literature and experience of others. Her writing is a bit reminiscent of Gertrude Stein, although she uses a more traditional grammar. This book will probably appeal to her fans, but unfortunately, this reviewer found it tedious and self-absorbed.

Reviewed By:

Author Rebecca Brown
Star Count 3/5
Format Trade
Page Count 102 pages
Publisher Chatwin Books
Publish Date 28-Mar-2022
ISBN 9781633981348 Buy this Book
Issue April 2022
Category Philosophy