Age of Ash (The Kithamar Trilogy, 1)

We rated this book:


This is the first book in a trilogy by noted author Daniel Abraham, who co-wrote the Expanse series. He is now stretching out into the world of fantasy and focusing on three different individuals in the same city; each individual will be the star of their own book, but they will appear at times in one of the other books. We are in the vast city of Kithamar, capital, huge, and dangerous. In the first book, we follow Alys – a petty thief – who is traumatized when her brother is murdered. Alys will search for her brother’s killer from the slums on the edge of the city to the inner workings of the rich and powerful. The more she digs, the more secrets she will uncover about herself and the more danger she will be in. One of the things I like about the idea, even though the story of a petty thief out for revenge and getting more than she bargained for has been told multiple times, is how Abraham is telling the story. Instead of continuing the quest, so to speak, we will instead get perspectives from different characters in future books.

Reviewed By:

Author Daniel Abraham
Star Count 4/5
Format Hard
Page Count 448 pages
Publisher Orbit
Publish Date 15-Feb-2022
ISBN 9780316421843 Buy this Book
Issue April 2022
Category Science Fiction & Fantasy